Tags

, , , , , , ,


Watching the growing rise of popularity of shows like Jersey Shore, and walking through Sears and noticing they are now selling the Kardashian Collection, I have all been convinced that modesty had died in our society. We have become awashed in the sea of moral decline that have swept across the country and it appeared no one was even looking for a life jacket.

But two bits of news have played a big part in giving me hope for the future:

Sex Week which has been an annual event since 2002 on Yale campus, now has some competition. Fed up with the easing of morality at Yale as well as the promotion of the hook-up culture, Undergraduates For a Better Yale have sponsored a counter event called True Love Week.

They

kicked off this Sunday with an event titled ‘What They Didn’t Teach You in Sex Ed.’ Six other events focused on promoting fidelity and love will take place this week, leading up to Valentine’s Day.

‘We’re definitely smaller,’ junior Eduardo Andino, co-founder of the Better Yale group, told msnbc.com. ‘We don’t really need, I think, all that many events to get our point across. We want to treat sex with a little more respect.’

Even just the names of some Sex Week events — which include ‘Fornication 101 with Oh Megan!’ — are titillating, said senior Isabel Marin, a member of Better Yale.

‘I look at these events and I’m just shocked,’ Marin told msnbc.com. She believes the sexual climate on the Yale campus is unhealthy, and Sex Week does nothing to improve it.

‘They’re not conscious of how the hook-up culture negatively affects women,’ Marin said. ‘They’re not asking women to respect themselves more.’

~ US News on MSNBC, “At Yale, True Love Week hopes to challenge Sex Week”

I never supported a ban of Sex Week, but I was extremely heartened that a small brave group of conservatives have decided to sponsor a counter movement. You can keep abreast of their events and news on their Facebook page here.

Now, onto even better news. Okay, confession time. How many women would kill to be one of Victoria’s Secret angels? One woman who became a Victoria’s Secret model in 2009, now says that modeling lingerine on the runway conflicts with her Christian beliefs.

After beating out 10,000 other hopefuls in the Victoria Secrets Model Search in 2009 at age 19, Kylie Bisutti says, “I just became so convicted of honoring the Lord and my body and wanting to be a role model for other women out there who look up to me.”

Bisutti who was already married when she became a Victoria’s Secret model, said her husband did not pressure her to make this decision. In fact he was very supportive of her career. But another personal event also encouraged her to make this change. Bisutti was applying make up one day when her 8-year-old cousin said something that shook her: ‘You know, I think I want to stop eating so I can look like you.’

“It just broke my heart because she looks up to me and I didn’t want to be that type of person that she thought she had to do that to be beautiful,” Bisutti said. “Thousands of girls that think that being beautiful is an outer issue and really it’s a heart issue.”

On Dec. 1, one day after the nationally televised Victoria’s Secret Fashion Show, in which Bisutti didn’t appear, aired, the model posted to her Twitter page, ‘For all of you that were looking for me in the Victorias Secret runway show this year, I wasn’t in it. I have decided not to model lingerie Because I personally feel that I am not honoring God or my husband by doing it. My marriage is very important & with divorce rates rising I want to do everything I can to protect my marriage and be respectful to my husband. God graciously gave me this marriage and this life and my desire is to live a Godly faithful life, I don’t however judge others for what they do. Everyone is convicted on different levels.’

~ ABC News, “Victoria’s Secret Model Quits to Reserve Body ‘for My Husband’”

Am I being premature in my optimism or are we looking at a sea change in modesty issues?

