Tags

, , , , , , ,


Another year has come and gone. Maybe it’s a sign that I’m getting older (and hopefully wiser) because I don’t get giddy with excitement anymore about Christmas or New Year’s Day. I think I stayed up once to watch the New Year’s ball drop in Times Square and the experience was enough to last a life time.

I went out earlier today and brought back some bagels and scallion cream cheese. I like eating poppy seed bagels in the comfort and privacy of my own home because no one has yet invented poppy seeds that won’t imbed themselves into every space between your teeth. I asked my wonderful husband to make coffee (men are usually better at making coffee than women) and picked up my latest issue of Elle and got engrossed reading Ali Wentworth’s article on her blepharoplasty. It’s a fancy word for the surgical procedure of lifting the eyes. She included before and after photos. She claims she is not a vain person, but her baggy eyes were a cause for concern since her twenties and she finally decided to do something about it. Judging by the after-photo, the procedure was well-worth the time and $7,000.

Ali-Wentworth.montage

Why did she do it? She wanted to look more youthful, and she realized it would also make her happier.

I had no idea who Ali Wentworth was so I looked her up and she is a comedienne, actress, author and wife to George Stephanopoulos! Why the exclamation mark? Because for decades, I thought he was single and possibly gay….

Anyway reading Ali Wentworth’s experience about her plastic surgery and how happy she was with the results, got me to thinking about the things that make me happy.

My family makes me happy. Being with them and watching and raising my kids makes me happy. More things that make me happy: cooking, eating, reading, writing, playing piano, trying new things, making things with my hands, and accomplishing things. What doesn’t make me happy: wasting time and being around self-centered people.

How could I be happier? Doing more of the things I like doing. I think I might possibly cook less and focus my time reading and writing more. As much as I absolutely enjoy preparing fantastic elaborate meals AND eating them, I need to focus that energy on possibly a new project. I’ll talk more about it once I get started and it looks like it’s actually going somewhere.

So expect to see more of my blog. I am aiming to blog at least once a week. It may be this kind of stream of conscience blog and less politically oriented. Did I hear some sighs of relief?

And I want to get back into reading more and I’m going to give myself a goal of 24 books this coming year. So look for more frequent postings on Goodreads.

I hope that didn’t sound like resolutions. I never do resolutions. On that note, Happy New Year to everyone and welcome the year of the Black Snake….

